Posted in Blog Post

Blog Post #28a – Everything, Everything, Unwind & iBoy (spoiler free)

Hey readers!

So I wrote two versions of this post – one with spoilers and one without. Continue reading for no spoilers, or click here for the version including spoilers!

So over the past couple of days I have read 3 books: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon, Unwind by Neal Shusterman and iBoy by Kevin Brooks. Alice leant them all to me – and I’m very glad she did! Just a quick note: all of these reviews are very positive, as they’re all good books, but also because the more negative parts of the reviews are in the spoiler-version.

Everything, Everything is a book I’ve been wanting to read for a while now. I’d heard of it before, but had never really shown any interest in it, I didn’t know anything about or what it was about. But then I saw the trailer for the film they’re making for it and my immediate reactions was “that looks really good”. Since then it’s been on my TBR list, but as it’s quite a long list, it’s not a priority at the moment. However, when I was at Alce’s house the other day I saw she had it and asked if I could borrow it (as it saved me spending money aha). The next morning I woke up quite early so decided to start it, and then ‘accidentally’ didn’t move fo the next two hours and read it all in one sitting. Oops. But honestly, it was great! If you’re a fan of YA fiction (not really sure what you’d call the genre… just real-life perhaps? Not fantasy or dystopia or sci-fi basically) I would definitely recommend reading it. It’s about a girl called Maddy who hasn’t left her house in 17 years, and what happens when she meets a boy called Olly. I loved this book lots, would definitely recommend you read it, and also, it’s very impressive for a first book!

Unwind is the second book I read; one that Alice was reading a while ago and told me I should read, but I never did. Although I don’t like to admit it, I was judging the book by it’s cover, and I didn’t really like the look of the cover, so I never even bothered reading the blurb. What a mistake that was! It’s a great book, and I certainly enjoyed it lots. Set in the future, about a society where unwanted teens are ‘unwound’ and their body parts recycled, I’d class it as dystopia (my favourite genre) with some sci-fi-ish elements, so if that sound interesting to you I’d definitely give it a read!

The final book I read was iBoy, by Kevin Brooks.  It was great! This was a cross between real life and sci-fi (and perhaps a bit of fantasy/dystopia?) I think… basically, it’s about a boy who has parts of an iPhone embedded in his brain and some difficult decisions to make. There are some sensitive topics within it so if you’re likely to be upset or triggered by anything I’d recommend perhaps googling it first and checking it’s okay for you to read, but if it is then definitely try it out! It’s very exciting and interesting and I certainly had a lot of fun reading it. It was the first book by Kevin Brooks I’ve actually read, but after finishing it I think I’m going to give some of his others a try, as they sound quite interesting.

In summary, all of them were great and I’d recommend all of them. They also cover a few different genres, so if you’re not into one type, then try out the others! As with most books, there were a few elements I’d perhaps change or do differently, or think that they should have not gone as they did, but those are all outlined in the spoiler version of this post (link at the top of this post).

I hope you’ve enjoyed this review/recommendation post. If there are any books you’d like us to read and share our opinion on, then do let us know! You can contact us via email, instagram, tumblr and the comments on this site. Bye!

~ April

Leave a Reply

