Posted in Blog Post

Blog Post #27

Hey readers!

So, this week, nothing much interesting has happened. In English class we watched Sherlock (A Study In Pink) which was fun, but our lesson was 10 minutes shorter than the episode so we didn’t get to watch the end of it, sadly. A few people wanted to know what happened though, so Alice was left explaining it to them. And that’s everything worth writing about that happened!

I did finally manage to finish Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare though! It’s taken me a while to read, I’m not really sure why. It is a very big book to be fair, but it wouldn’t normally take me that long to read a book of it’s size. If anyone else has read it and is willing to discuss please message us, because I NEED to talk about it with someone and none of my friends have read it yet!!

After Lord of Shadows I moved on to two books. Firstly, I started re-reading Harry Potter ad the Philosophers Stone, for two reasons. Firstly, I got the new house copy and wanted to read it, but that also coincided perfectly with the Wizarding World Books Club (as they’re both to celebrate 20 years) so I’m kind of re-reading it for that too. Sadly, I’ve given up on the Book Club, as I don’t have twitter and my trying to follow it on Pottermore hasn’t worked out as well as I hoped it would. I was expecting more of a summary type thing at the end of each week on Pottermore, but I think I misunderstood something I read about it as I can’t see anything of the sort. Oh well – it’s been fun re-reading it anyway. After this one I might begin re-reading the whole series, as I’ve not read them in a while.

The other book I began reading is another Shadowhunters book – Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy, by a number of different authors (Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson and Robin Wasserman). For anyone who had read the Mortal Instruments series – it follows Simon after the events of City of Heavenly Fire. So far I’m definitely enjoying it! It has the story of Simon at the Academy (oops, spoiler. Is that a spoiler? Nah, it’s in the blub, its fine) but also gives you quite a bit of Shadowhunter history as well. Exciting stuff, amirite? When Alice saw what I was reading she asked if it was another Shadowhunter book (she’s not read them) and when I said yes, her comment was “they really are sucking every last bit of life out of it, aren’t they?” I completely agree, Alice, but it’s not a bad thing!!

Anyway, that’s all for this post. It’s a short one, just because there’s not much for me to write about today, sorry! I’m planning on posting my Gothic Horror story that inspired my last post sometime this week, so keep looking out for that if you’re interested. If you’d like to contact us for any reason (please someone talk about Lord of Shadows with me pleeeeeeaaaaaase), then here’s how you can do that:

Thanks for reading – bye!

~ April

Leave a Reply

