Posted in Uncategorized

Blog post #19 (I think?)

Hey readers! Happy International Women’s Day 🙂

It’s just under a week since my last blog post, but I just posted a short story and it kind of inspired me to write another blog post, so here it is I guess?

Not much has happened this week – I feel like I say that in every blog post, but it’s true. I go to school and do my homework, and that’s about it xD However, I have finished a book this week which I’d like to recommend to you all.

The book is called “At Yellow Lake” and is written by Jane McLoughlin. I actually picked it up because I was attempting to write a story out of book titles for a competition that I wanted to take part in (I never did it in the end, because I wanted my sentences to be grammatically correct and coherent but that wasn’t really an option), but then I decided I would actually read it.

Basically, the story follows three different people (Peters, Jonah and Etta) who live very different lives. However, despite their very different lives, they all end up in the same place and share an… adventure? ordeal? (something like that – can’t think of exactly the right word at the moment)

I really really enjoyed reading this book, much more than I thought I would when I first decided to read it, and I definitely recommend it! I’m trying not to give too many stories away, but it’s kind of a teen fiction/YA novel/adventure book if that makes sense? (I’m terrible at describing genres, sorry >.<)

13239331

The book I’m reading currently is another one I picked up for the competition. It’s called Hidden, and is written by Miriam Halahmy. It’s about a girl called Alix and her new friend Samir who one day save an immigrant from drowning off shore and then find themselves in a dilemma as they don’t know what to do (that’s not spoilers because it says that in the blurb)

I’m not very far into the book so far so I don’t have any concrete opinions on it yet, however at the moment I don’t think that the characters are portrayed as their age… I was quite shocked when it mentioned that they were 14, they seem more like 16 or 18 year olds to me. But I’ll try to keep an open mind as I go along, maybe they’ll seem older as I read more.

51sjnk60ccl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

I’ve also already decided which book I’m going to read next: Blood Ties, by Sophie McKenzie (who is well known for her other book “Girl, Missing”). Blood Ties is a book that I’ve already read a couple of times but I really enjoy so want to read again. It follows a Theo and Rachel, two children who are mysteriously linked by the firebombing of a research clinic. (I took that from the blub so sorry for not much detail – but I don’t want to give away spoilers!). I really do love this book and would definitely recommend reading it if you can, especially if you’re a fan of action/adventure stories full of plot twists.

bloodties1

On the subject of books, let’s talk about Sherlock xD Both Alice and I are fans of the TV show Sherlock (although I’ve not get round to watching Seasons 2 & 3 yet – hopefully I’ll get to watch them soon though), and so both of us decided to try and read the books. Alice bought the full works and I think is still persevering with it, whereas I bought a book with the ones that Mark Gatiss and Steve Moffat picked out as ‘the best’ and have since given up. Actually, I think given up is the wrong thing to says, it’s more like I’ve… taken a break. I was finding it quite hard and slow to read for some reason (like when I read the Hobbit) so I decided to read some other books for a while, as I was getting a bit bored by it and was avoiding reading because I didn’t fell like it, which was a problem as I’m trying to rea a book every week this year and it had already taken up two weeks and I was only on Chapter 2 of A Study In Scarlet.

cover1

Now, as I’ve written about 700 words about books, perhaps I should move onto something else? I know this is a writing and book orientated blog, but there is other stuff I’ve been very excited about recently.

The first one of these things is the new Ed Sheeran album that came out last Friday (was going to put a divide symbol here but there doesn’t appear to be one on my keyboard WHAT IS THIS I DON’T UNDERSTAND). I might be slightly obsessed with it… my favourite song from it has to by Nancy Mulligan, for sure, followed up by How Would You Feel and Bibia Be Ye Ye. I also quite like Supermarket Flowers but I’ve only listened to it once because it made me cry :/

es-divide-final-artwork-lo-res

The second thing that makes me excited is the new Beauty and The Beast film that’s coming out! I saw some behind the scenes stuff the other day, and ITS AMAZING OH MY WORD SO GOOD I LOVE IT. It does make me a bit sad that soon there’ll be a whole generation of kids who know Emma Watson as Belle not Hermione, but the pros of this film outweigh that con by far. And to make things even better… Disney announced that was a LGBTQ+ character in it – and not just a random person in the background either! LeFou (Gaston’s sidekick, played by Josh Gad) has been announced as Disney’s first ever LGBTQ+ character, as a was of honouring Howard Ashman (who was the lyricist for the original 1991 animated version). IT’S SO EXCITING. Obviously this has had some negative backlash (*cough cough* Heagardriveinthreatreinalabamai’mlookingatyou *cough cough*) but it’s so exciting and aaaaargh I love the film even more now! SO BASICALLY YEH I’M VERY EXCITED I DUNNO IF YOU CAN TELL.

eu_batb_flex-hero_header_r_430eac8d

Anyway, I think that’s all I have for this post… an overload of information about books, and fangirling over Divide and Beauty and The Beast. Yup, that just about sums me up xD Oh, and I’d also like to apologise for the formatting of the last post, I don’t think the computer wanted to cooperate with me and so all the line breaks are messed up, sorry.

Bye!

~ April

(also sorry for typos I can’t be bothered to spellcheck at the moment but I also can’t type and make hundreds of typos all the time. maybe i’ll spellcheck another time, maybe i wont *shrug*)

Leave a Reply

