Posted in Uncategorized

Sherlock Holmes v2 (Day 4 of Write-A-Day)

Hey all!

It’s April here, and if you can’t guess from the title, in this blog post I’m going to be talking about Sherlock Holmes.

So, Alice has been quite a big fan of Sherlock for quite a while (reference here! xD), and recently she persuaded me to watch the new series of the programme. Up until I watched it I had only watched ‘A Study In Pink’, but now I am completely in love. I watched the first two episodes on Tuesday evening and I really want to watch Episode 3 but I haven’t had the time yet. Hopefully I’ll get to watch that soon! I have also begun reading a book of some of the original stories by Arthur Conan Doyle (more details here)

Long story short, I have dived head first into the world of Sherlock and do not regret it. One of the best things about this is as I was watching the episodes I picked up on many different references that Alice has made and have gone straight over my head; they all make so much sense now! I also discovered that many quotes that I like come from it, so all in all, it’s been great discovering their source!

“Your life is not your own, keep your hands off it” – Sherlock Holmes

One of the things I especially like about Sherlock (the TV series) is how everything is explained. Although Sherlock is an amazing detective with an amazing eye for detail and comes to conclusions so quickly with almost no evidence, it doesn’t leave you feeling lost and befuzzled, as it is explained to you what clues he has and how he has drawn his conclusions from them (which always makes me feel very clever!)

“Anderson, don’t talk out loud. You lower the IQ of the whole street” – Sherlock Holmes

However, the second episode did confuse me at first, but all was revealed at the end of it. So if you’re half way through that episode and wondering whether or not to continue, then persevere! I think quite a lot of people would admit it is rather confusing at first, but it all comes together at the end… and then ends with a cliffhanger. Darn those cliffhangers.

I hate cliffhangers.

As I have only watched 3 episodes of Sherlock ever, I may change this opinion drastically (as yes, I am planning on watching the other episodes at some point in my life!), but at the moment I think my favourite character is John Watson. Personally, I think Sherlock is a bit cocky, and I can almost guarantee that I’m going to start shouting Norbery at the screen from now on xD (anyone who has seen season 4 will understand the reference). I don’t know much around the other characters… I’m not the biggest fan of John’s wife though, and although Mrs Hudson is perfect is every way and is one of the coolest people I know, I prefer John to her by quite a bit (probabaly because I can relate to his confusion… xD). And Mycroft is too cynical and cold for my liking.

“You, being all mysterious with your cheekbones and turning your coat collar up so you look cool” – John Watson

Anyway, I think that’s all I have to say on the subject of Sherlock for now… perhaps I’ll have more when I’ve watched episode 3, but right now I need to end this and go and do my homework… Stay tuned the rest of this week for more daily posts from Alice and myself,

Bye!

~ April

“Four serial suicides and now a note! It’s Christmas!” – Sherlock Holmes

P.S. While searching some of my favourite Sherlock quotes to put into this, I stumbled across this article, and it was so hard to pick which quotes to put in so I thought I’d link it here 😉

Leave a Reply

