Posted in Uncategorized

Sherlock Holmes

Hey there, it’s Alice. I wanted to do a post about Sherlock, so here it is:

So, I watched series 1-3 of Sherlock (all of them that were out) in the summer, and became a big fan. When there is something that I am interested in, I think about it a lot and it can affect the way I think / act (is that normal?!) and I’m not really sure how to explain, but basically, I have become slightly obsessed with Sherlock.

Just before the new series came out, I re-watched all the old series and waited in anticipation for the first of January. I have loved this entire series, despite the fact that the fandom is split with their opinion of it. Yes, the last episode was quite confusing at times, but you have to remember that it centres around Sherlock Holmes, who has a remarkable mind, and is capable of processing everything. However, it did tie up lots of loose ends and I just liked it.

Sherlock-s04e02-7.jpg

You might have heard the theory about there being another episode for this series, being kept a secret until this Sunday. I don’t know if this is true, and am torn between believing and not – episode three seemed like an ending, but there are rumours about a fourth, and you can’t order the box set until after next Sunday, so maybe it is true?! I don’t know, but I hope there is, as when it is on there is an hour and a half of amazing television, written and made by some incredibly talented and intelligent people.

I ordered the penguin complete collection of Sherlock Holmes book, by Arthur Conan Doyle, and it arrived this week (over 1000 pages long!) and I plan to read that, after I have finished the book I am currently reading, ‘Far From You’ by Tess Sharpe, which is very good by the way, and will keep you updated on my opinion about that, story by story, if that is something that you want.

51wx5hqJucL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

One of the reasons that I love Sherlock so much, aside from the story itself, is because of it’s fandom. The Sherlock fandom is huge, not without good reason, and we stick together, ignoring our opinion on series 4 episode 3 :/

If you haven’t watched Sherlock, I highly recommend it – it is available on Netflix, and series 4 is available on the iPlayer at the moment. I’m trying to persuade April to watch them, but she doesn’t seem to think it’s her kind of thing, so I’ll let her decide on her own 🙂

Happy reading / watching,

Alice x

Leave a Reply

