Posted in Uncategorized

Blog Post #15

Hey readers!

I thought I’d write a blog post today because I said in my last one I’d hopefully be more active and it’d been a while since then, so one is due. Not much has happened so if you’re not interested in random ramblings about life I would stop reading now. I won’t be offended, I promise.

So this year I’ve decided to do something I’ve named the “52 Books Challenge” – basically I have to read a book every week for a year. It doesn’t sound that hard but I’ve discovered that in practice it’s easy to fail. I think this might be because I’m the type of person to either spend 3 weeks reading a book, or read 37 books in 2 days? Anyway, so far I’ve read 2 books and started a third, as it’s the third week of 2017, so I’m going to share what I’ve read with you.

The first book I read was the Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them Original Screenplay by JK Rowling, which I loved. I went to see the film beforehand so I knew what was going to happen, but I still loved it. I don’t really think much needs to be said about this, but I would 10/10 recommend watching the film if you’re not a big reader or don’t like reading scripts and if you do, then do both!

The second book that I read is called The Bombs That Brought Us Together and is written by Brian Conaghan. He’s the author of When Mr Dog Bites, which was shortlisted for the Carnegie award, so maybe some of you might know him from that? Anyway, this book was really really good. I loved it lots, even though it was a completely random choice that I picked off the shelf because I wanted something different to read, and I am thoroughly glad I did that. I would definitely recommend reading this, although I’m upset that 2 characters didn’t get together in the end… I think I’m going to write a review so I can reveal which characters!

And finally, this weeks book is called Mind Blind and is by Lari Don. I’m only on Page 13 so far, but the first chapter has really hooked me so I do want to continue reading it. This book was recommended to me by Alice, so if you want to discuss it with someone then contact her to talk about it! I did post something about it on our Instagram story, which leads me nicely onto my next point…

Instagram! Basically, although we haven’t been so active on here recently, both Alice and myself have become more active on our Instagram account. In case you don’t know, it’s @writeaweek, and we post lots of book related stuff there. Recently we’ve both entered a book photography competition and who knows, if we gain more readers then maybe we could even hold competitions of our own?

And I think that’s all for this blog… like I said at the start, I didn’t really have much to talk about, so it’s quite short and rambly. Sorry. How about to make up for it I insert some pictures of a cute baby pig? Will that make it better?

Aww, ain’t that cute?

Anyway, thanks for reading, bye!

~ April

Leave a Reply

