Posted in Uncategorized

Hello Again & Things to Say

Hello Readers,

It’s Alice, and I have quite a lot that I want to say, and here is where I’m going to say it:

So, school started again last week, after the christmas holidays, and it already feels like we’ve been back forever. Since it started, both April and I have been drowning in homework and tests (fun, not) and that’s my excuse for not posting as often as I’d like :s

51448-funny-quotes-about-homework

So, I wanted to tell you something reading/writing related. Just before the start of 2017 (literally a couple of days), I started writing a story, because the characters popped into my head and demanded to tell their stories. I’ve been writing quite a lot, but have been limited by the stacks of homework (ugh). Despite this, I have written almost 19,000 words and am only just getting into the story, meaning that if I finish it, which I really want to, it will probably be novel length! I have decided that my new year’s resolution is to finish a story, so hopefully there won’t be quite so many loose ends as there were last year…

The story is mainly focused around three people: Michael, who is grieving from the loss of his family, Henry, who is Michael’s god father and is looking after him now his parents have gone, hiding the secrets of his past, and Emily, who along with her own problems, is inexplicably tied to Michael mentally.

I’m really excited about developing this story, and when I have edited it (and written more), I’ll post some, if not all of it on here for you to read!

faulkner

 

Also, April and I have entered a book photography contest on our Instagram (@writeaweek), so be sure to check that out!

Also, I’ve been writing poetry – don’t groan, poetry is good! I used to hate everything to do with poetry, but now, I really love how you are in charge of everything and you don’t have to follow the regular rules. If you’ve ever got something nagging at the back of your head, or you’re feeling particularly sad or happy, or even just normal, pick up a piece of paper and a pen and write whatever comes to you, even if it is truly awful. I’ve found that it helps me focus, or get my thoughts in order, and maybe it will do the same for you?!

john-fowles-poetry-quotes-we-all-write-poems-it-is-simply-that-poets.jpg

Happy reading,

Alice x (sorry for the inactivity :/ )

Leave a Reply

