Posted in Uncategorized

Alice’s Top 10 Books of 2016

Here is a shortlist of the best books I have read this year (in my opinion, and they have not necessarily been released this year):

  1. The Harry Potter series – J.K Rowling  – Needs no explanation; I feel stupid for not reading them before and am now a huge fan (of all of them, including Cursed Child & (especially) Fantastic Beasts.
  2. Flawed – Cecilia Ahern – Her first YA book and AMAZINGLY good, I cannot wait for the next one, which is coming out next year. It is about a girl – Celestine North – who breaks a rule and could potentially her life changed forever; she could be branded Flawed for the world to see. (That wasn’t a great summary, but I didn’t want to give anything away)
  3. Soulmates – Holly Bourne – Where the title may cause you to cringe with how cliched it is, don’t worry, the story makes up for it! It follows two people who fall in love, unaware of the FBI-like team trying to split them up. They are solutes, and the fact they have met could end the world. This is an amazing book and I  strongly encourage you to read it.
  4. The Night Circus -Erin Morgenstern- I read this towards the start of the year, so don’t remember it too well, but still recommend it to people, and the parts I do remember, I remember fondly. It was actually written for NaNoWriMo in 2011, which I discovered after reading it, and was astonished due to the complexity of the plot. Set in Victorian England, it follows several characters and revolves around the magical ‘Night Circus’.
  5. Thirteen – Tom Hoyle- Again, I read this fairly early on in the year, but remember it being very good. The plot entails a twelve year old boy, hunted by a religious cult who believe that children born on the millennia must be killed before their thirteenth birthday as they possess some kind of evil. This is an engaging read that I highly recommend.
  6.  Mind Games – Terri Terry-  I don’t think that I read this for the first time this year, but have definitely re-read in the past twelve months. I love this book, and have read it over three times, leaving me with a well worn copy of it. It is set in a futuristic time, where people have Implants that allow them to be virtually connected all the time, even having virtual school lessons and games. These things work differently for Luna, and she is a Refuser, someone without an Implant, who has to connect in a different way and is excluded from friendship groups for being different. But she is singled out for testing and can no longer hide her secret, and she begins a very different life. This book is great, and one of my all time favourites. It is placed at number six, simple because 2016 is not the first time I read it, and I thought that I should put things that I read for the first time this year higher up.
  7. Eve and Adam – Michael Grant & Katherine Applegate- this book is centred around Eve, the daughter of a powerful, well regarded scientist. After an accident, she is given the opportunity by her mother to create her ‘perfect’ person. So, she sets about making her perfect guy, building him up by creating his genes, picking out characteristics and looks. She thinks it is all a game, that is what she was told, so she has no reason to think otherwise. But, then with the help of a mystery boy, she discovers that her mothers labs are not as wonderful as everyone thinks, and vows to put a stop to what has been going on. But then, she discovers something about the person she was creating – Adam- he is not as much of a game as she thought. Again, this is a book that I re-read this year, and would have been placed higher if I read it for the first time this year. It truly is a brilliant book, and I know that April also enjoyed it, as she did with some of the others on this list.
  8. The Potion Diaries – Amy Alward – I am currently reading this now, and haven’t quite finished (but almost definitely will have done by the time this is published), but it is incredibly engaging and has a good story line, following Apprentice Alchemist Samantha Kemi through the quest to cure Princess Evelyn of the love potion she took by mistake, endangering everyone by doing so. This is one of those books that you look at and think it has the possibility of being great, or terrible, but it truly is a good book.
  9.  Nerve  – Jeanne Ryan – This is about a live action Truth or Dare type of game, where you are either  Player or a Watcher. The whole game is aired to the public, with some ridiculous, and doe highly dangerous dares, with incredible prizes for the winners. The story follows an unlikely candidate, who falls into the game almost by accident. It is a great book, and has also been made into a film, which I have, but haven’t watched yet, so cannot comment on.
  10. One -Sarah Crossan- The fact that this was the winner of countless awards speaks for itself. This is a story told through poetry, following the lives of conjoined twins Tippi and Grace through the year where they go to school for the first time after being homeschooled for their whole lives. It is a great read and I really liked how it was written with poems as this isn’t done very often and people tend to think of poems as boring, but even my friend who ‘hates reading’ read this and enjoyed it.

So, there it is, I hope you enjoyed hearing about the books I have enjoyed the most, and that you may even choose to read some of them yourself! Thanks for reading, and have a great 2017,

Alice

Note: The day after I finished writing this, I picked up a book that I bought a little while before Christmas and read all  474 pages within that day, whilst still managing to go on a walk and play a family board game in the middle of it (oh, and have huge inspiration for a new story & draft a storyline for that). The book is called ‘The Problem With Forever’, written by Jennifer L Armentrout, and 100% belongs on this list. The story covers delicate topics not normally written about, whilst still encompassing the life of a teenage girl. Mallory Dodge and Rider Stark, the two main characters are the most developed and realistic characters I have read about in a long time. I’d go as far as to say that this book is one of my favourites ever, and only wish I’d read it sooner so it could have appeared on this list. Anyway, I highly highly recommend that you have a read of this one; believe me, you will not be able to put it down!

Extra: Some of these books are aimed at older readers, so always take note of that before reading them!

Leave a Reply

